Image

Over the last few weeks, I have been re-energized.  Going through a NASM-Corrective Exercise workshop and putting a system together to make sure clients reach their goals.  Regardless of the system, clients still need a system or game plan to reach their goals.  I have seen huge changes in all my clients when implementing some sort of system.  A big eye opener or reminder was, not always training clients how I think they should be but what their body needs.  I feel a lot of trainers out their train clients “randomly” and we are all guilty of it as trainers.  Make sure your trainer is communicating with you as a client about how you’re going to reach your goal and the system behind it.

How do you know if you’re progressing?  I mentioned earlier that I saw huge changes in my clients over the past few weeks.  I saw pain free joints, increase flexibility, a total 8lbs and 12 inches lost, lowered blood pressure and resting heart rate.  How do I know? Assessing!  “You can’t know where you’re going, unless you know where you been.”  As a client or trainer, make sure you know where you are physically before you start a training system or program.  Whether it is a movement screen, body fat analysis, girth measurements, or blood pressure, you should have some type of hard data in the beginning.  Now progress is not always facts and figures.  It can be a way of feeling.  Sometimes your self esteem will increase or you don’t feel as fatigued throughout the day.  Either way, make sure that you as the client or trainer recognize the non-tangibles.

At the end of the day, having a progressing system can only lead to a positive result.

 

